Review Highlights

Concert: City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra 10 September 1992

  • Ravel: Ma mere l’oye Suite
  • Dvořak: Symphony No. 9 From the New World

Stringer delivers a thriller!

“…First was the Mother Goose Suite by Ravel and …Mark Stringer, making his British debut, demonstrated an effortless control upon the delicacy of the scoring and in so doing managed to highlight the subtlety and depth of the music. The feeling of nostalgia for lost childhood was hauntingly captured in this performance.

…A casual entrance belied the tension and excitement he injected into the first movement of Dvořak’s New World Symphony in complete contrast to the more somber second movement with its famous cor anglais theme. The symphony ended in thrilling form.”

– David Williams, Birmingham Post 11 September 1992

Search by...
 15 of 15